On Award

Upon the decision of an expert four-member jury, the ON Award is given to the best student project from the section OFF Academy. This is one of the festival's means to offer optimum conditions of support and promotion. Together with the ON Award, an original piece by the ceramist Simona Janišová, the winner is automatically granted the possibility to present the work at the solo exhibition during the next year of the festival of contemporary photography OFF Bratislava.


The eleventh ON Awardee is Hungarian photographer Bence Molnár from the Rippl-Rónai Faculty of Arts and Theatre, Szent István University, Kaposvár. His black and white document Inside tries to capture the feeling of loneliness that results from schizophrenia, using a conceptual approach. At the same time, it is intended to point out that the human being is primarily a social creature.
In 2019 The jury has chosen the work by the Hungarian student Daniel Szalai from the Moholy‑Nagy University of Art and Design in Budapest titled Stadtluft Macht Frei which uses complex visual means to comment on the urban politics of Vienna towards pigeons. At the same time, it offers a parallel to the oppression created in the world of human social groups.
Within the ninth OFF Bratislava, the jury awarded the prize ON award to the Polish student Jadwiga Subczyńska from University of Arts in Poznań. Her project titled Remorphing, Renaming, Remaining describes the formation of a new type of material by combining a civilization waste with products of the nature’s activity and asks question about the lastingness and transformation of human made artefacts.
Load more


In the last eleven years, the judges have consisted of renowned personalities from the world of photography: Andrej Balco, Vladimír Birgus, Michaela Bosáková, Judita Csáderová, Lucia L. Fišerová, Damas Gruška, Milota Havránková, Jana Hojstričová, Peter Homola, Verena Kaspar‐Eisert, Šymon Kliman, Jarosław Klupś, Dušan Kochol, Bohunka Koklesová, Juraj Králik, Zuzana Lapitková, Rafal Milach, Lucia Nimcová, Michaela Pašteková, Dita Pepe, Tomáš Pospěch, Reiner Riedler, Dorota Sadovská, Pavel Maria Smejkal, Evžen Sobek, Ľubo Stacho, Štěpánka Stein, Ján Strieš, Jindřich Štreit, Miro Švolík, István Virágvölgyi, Matúš Zajac and Jaro Žiak.


The OFF Bratislava festival publication activity involves three volumes of the awarded series review, ON Award 2010 - 2012, ON Award 2013 - 2015 and the more extensive ON Award 2010 - 2018. Upon the decision of an expert four-member jury, the ON Award is annually given to an artist for a progressive and inventive work in the field of photography and new media.

Festival z verejných zdrojov podporil Fond na podporu umenia.